Groundbreaking independent films compete for Cinemalaya 2006

MANILA, JULY 7, 2006 (MALAYA) EIGHTEEN new independent digital films will compete in the 2006 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition on July 17 to 23 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

Eight films will be battling each other in the full length category. These are “Ang Huling Araw ng Linggo” by Nick Joseph Olanka; “Batad: Sa Paang Palay” by Vic Acedillo, Jr. and Benji Garcia; “Donsol” by Adolfo Alix, Jr.; “In Da Red Corner” by Dado C. Lumibao and Bong Ramos; “Mudraks” by Arah Jell G. Badayos; “Rotonda” by Ron Bryant; “Saan Nagtatago si Happiness” by Florida M. Bautista and Rea Florido; and “Tulad ng Dati” by Michael Sandejas.

Ten films will compete in the short film category. These are “10:25 ng Gabi” by Reggie Gulle, “Gee-Gee at Waterina” by J. Dennis C. Teodosio and Mariami Tanangco, “Kwarto” by Jose Emmanuel C. Taylo, “Labada” by Raz dela Torre, “No Passport Needed” by Jeanne Lim and Pepe Diokno, “Orasyon” by Rommel Tolentino, “Parang Pelikula” by Hubert Tibi, “Putot” by Jeck Cogama, “Puwang” by Anna Isabelle Matutina and “Sa Silaw” by Reinzi L. Balao.

The eight finalists in the full-length category were selected from a short list of 15 semi-finalists and chosen out of a total of 232 entries submitted to the full-length category of the 2006 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition. They were chosen by the Cinemalaya Selection Committee composed of Nestor U. Torre, Ma. Marta Ines Dayrit, Robbie Tan, Jeffrey Jeturian and Armando Lao. Each of the eight finalists in the full-length category received a P500,000 seed grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation Inc., as investment for the production. The Best Full-length Feature Film receive a grant of P200,000 and the Balanghai Trophy during the awarding ceremonies of Cinemalaya on July 23 at the CCP.

The ten finalists in the short film category were selected by a committee composed of Emily Abrera, Socorro “Sockie” Fernandez, Juaniyo Arcellana, Antonio Jose “Butch” Perez and Narciso “Jun” Reyes. They were selected from a total of 108 entries submitted to the short film category. The best short film will receive a grant of P 100,000, plus a Balanghai trophy at the awarding ceremonies of Cinemalaya on July 23 at the CCP.

Cinemalaya is a competitive film festival that aims to discover, encourage, and honor the cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers and seeks to invigorate the Philippine film industry by developing a new breed of Filipino filmmakers. It is held in two categories, short and full length, and features all original works in digital format.

Cinemalaya 2006 will also be highlighted by the Cinemalaya Film Congress on July 20 to 21 at the CCP Little Theater. The theme of the Congress will be “Back to the Future: The State and Prospects of the Independent Film.” The Film Congress will explore the various issues and aspects of independent filmmaking in the Philippines as it looks back to the recent past to map out directions into its future.

Cinemalaya 2006 also features film exhibitions, seminars, and other film-related events. The festival will move over to the UP Film Institute in Diliman on August 7 to 10.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s